Audio from my MITX speech: Thoughts on building startups that deliver joy instead of pain relief

https://vimeo.com/43951163

A speech that starts with the very first social network -- announced in the '70s and delivered in the '80s. It now has over 300M users. I then make connections with the intentions and beliefs of that original social network. I believe that there's a new way to create businesses. While the "normal" way to create a business is to create product/market fit, I believe another way is what I call "founder fit" -- where you design the company to fit the "DNA" of the founders. While market fit companies are good at delivering pain relief, I believe that these founder fit companies are great at delivering joy. And I believe that products that fundamentally deliver joy instead of pain relief can create their own huge markets. Twitter, Facebook and Apple are examples that spring to mind.